Washington, DC, formally the District of Columbia and commonly referred to as
Washington, "the District", or simply DC, is the capital of the United
States. The signing of the Residence Act on July 16, 1790, approved the
creation of a capital district located along the Potomac River on the
country's East Coast. The U.S. Constitution provided for a federal district
under the exclusive jurisdiction of the Congress and the District is
therefore not a part of any U.S. state. The states of Maryland and Virginia
each donated land to form the federal district, which included the
preexisting settlements of Georgetown and Alexandria. Named in honor of
George Washington, the City of Washington was founded in 1791 to serve
as the new national capital.

Photos From The Hit Show